Board Members

Tero Kivelä, MD, FEBO *President Helsinki, Finland*

Catherine Creuzot-Garcher, MD,FEBO

Secretary
Dijon, France

Nicoline E. Schalij-Delfos, MD Treasurer Leiden, The Netherlands

Council Members

Herbert Reitsamer, MD
Salzburg, Austria
Catherine Cassiman, MD
Leuven, Belgium
Christina Grupcheva, MD, FEBO
Sofia, Bulgaria
Tomislav Jukic, MD
Zagreb, Croatia
Pavel Rozsival, MD, FEBO

Hradec Králové, Czech Rep. Steffen Heegaard, MD, FEBO Copenhagen, Denmark

Copenhagen, Denmar Artur Klett, MD, FEBO Tallinn. Estonia

Catherine Creuzot, MD, FEBO Dijon, France

Bernd Kirchhof, MD

Cologne, Germany
Peter Wiedemann, MD

Leipzig, Germany
Dimitrios Papakonstantinou, MD
Athens, Greece

Gábor Hollo, MD *Budapest, Hungary*

Maria S. Gottredsdottir, MD Reykjavik, Iceland

Conor Murphy, MD

Dublin, Ireland

Carlo Traverso, MD Savona, Italy

Guna Laganovska, MD, FEBO Riga, Latvia

Ingrida Januleviciene, MD
Kaunas, Lithuania

Marc Theischen, MD
Luxembourg

Franco Mercieca, MD Valletta, Malta

Nicoline Schalij-Delfos, MD Leiden, The Netherlands

Morten Moe, MD
Oslo, Norway

Jacek Szaflik, MD Warsaw, Poland

Joaquim Murta, MD, FEBO Coimbra, Portugal

Alena Furdova, MD, FEBO Bratislava, Slovak Republic Marko Hawlina, MD, FEBO

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Jésus Merayo-Lloves, MD

Oviedo, Spain
Stefan Seregard, MD, FEBO
Stockholm. Sweden

Aki Kawasaki, MD

Lausanne. Switzerland

Carlos Pavesio, MD

London, United Kingdom

Francesca Cordeiro, MD, FEBO
EVER Liaison

Honorary Members

Jean-Jacques de Laey, MD
Ghent, Belgium
August Deutman, MD
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Gabriel van Rii. MD

Rotterdam, The Netherlands



European University Professors of Ophthalmology

EUPO Office Executive Administrator Christy Lacroix Email office@eupo.eu

16 September 2021

Dear Professor,

After a leap year due to the cancellation of the originally planned live SOE 2020 meeting where the year 2020 EUPO Course also was supposed to take place, EUPO is now **back in business.**

Secretary of EUPO, we began to entertain the idea of spreading our coverage through on-line access to our annual course. When the pandemic first emerged and then began to prolong, EUPO decided to go, for the time being, fully on-line. The original hybrid strategy will be reconsidered later as appropriate.

Our first on-line course will take place Friday to Saturday, October 22-23, as an independent event free of charge to any European resident in ophthalmology.

Since 2018, the EUPO Courses now follow the four *viva voce* topics of the **European Board of Ophthalmology Diploma Examination.**

Because an on-line event must be sufficiently concise and focused in scope to keep participants vigilant, the topic now due has been split in two. The first part, the **2021 EUPO Autumn Course**, will cover **Cornea and Ocular Surface Disease**, and the second part, the 2022 EUPO Spring Course, will cover Orbit and Ocular Adnexa.

We are most privileged and delighted to have **Prof. Jesper Hjortdal** from Copenhagen and **Prof. Conor C. Murphy** from Dublin as our course co-directors in Autumn 2021. They have designed a superb program and have selected and invited a leading faculty from across Europe to speak.

Registration is open through the EUPO web site http://www.eupo.eu where the residents also can preview the program.

We will be able to **accommodate up to 1000 residents** on this on-line event that will help them to become better future ophthalmologists and to pass easier the EBO Diploma Examination.

May I kindly ask that you encourage all your residents and national residency programs to participate!

Looking forward to seeing your residents at the EUPO on-line course on Cornea and Ocular Surface Disease in October!

Kindest regards,

Tero Kivelä, MD, FEBO President, EUPO

www.eupo.eu